I was reading a book

Posted: September 29, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

A lot has happened since my last blog entry. Almost two weeks ago I attended “Cycling for Libraries” Documentary première in Helsinki. And right now I’m spending my days in Riga – I met some friends here, had professional meet-ups, for one morning I even became a film expert for The Help. And did something I haven’t done for ages. >>> I read a book <<<

By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept – I noticed this book on the shelf at my friend’s place and decided to give it a chance. Actually I read it during late evenings and finished it today on my way back from the seaside.

The book was a great surprise to me – I couldn’t even imagine what a healing effect it might bring. Yes, a love story was involved, also elements of paganism and serious issues of life wisdom were included. I’m having reflection about the hell in the middle of paradise, about being ready to fall, about being reserved, about emotional experience..

To wait is torturous, to forget is painful, but the worst suffering of all is to not know which decision to make. (Paulo Coelho)

Comments
  1. Ella says:

    I also started reading Coelho exactly with this book. I was 16 when I first read it. I found it amazingly touching. Since then I have read many other Coelho books. He has an interesting approach putting romance, witchcrafts, fate and Christianity all in one pot. But I have one advice – don’t read more than 2 of his books in a longer period – they start to lose their taste 😉

    • Dace says:

      Yes, his book was really touching. I even felt how it talked to me. There is one more book I borrowed from my friend – The Pilgrimage (Burvja piezīmes). I’m thinking should I read it now.

Leave a Reply

