Willington Power Station

Posted: June 23, 2011 in 20 to 39 km
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday I was amazingly happy! First, I cycled along the Trent & Mersey Canal, and, secondly, I finally reached a power station. Well, it was not the Ratcliffe-on-Soar power station, but the Willington Power Station (coordinates: 52° 51′ 21.6″ N 1° 32′ 26.6″ W).

Willington Power Station: the remaining huge cooling towers known as the Five Brothers

The coal-fired power stations were built on a site off Twyford Road, between Willington and Findern (villages in south Derbyshire). The Power Station was, in fact, two almost entirely independent generating stations situated on the same site. With separate management and staff, the few facilities they shared amounted to the coal and water supply. The two stations were designated Willington “A” and Willington “B”. The Trent valley, with its obvious water supply and proximity to the Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire coal fields, was an ideal choice. An extensive, although already clogged, railway system was also on hand to move the coal from pit head to power station.

It was built in the 1950s and closed in the 1990s (Willington “A” was closed in 1995, but Willington “B” – in 1999). Nowadays five imposing cooling towers, known as the Five Brothers, continue to dominate the skyline of the local area. They are 300 feet high and have a 218 feet diameter at the base.

I don’t know why, but the industry like railway system, old power stations or airfields fill me with enthusiasm. I remember a strategy game “Shortline Railroad”. I could play it all day long.

Shortline Railroad

Shortline is a real-time railroad management game that is easy to learn, fun to play, and quite addictive. The point of the game is to build rail lines, complete with signals and switches, and run trains over these lines. The problem is, you only control the signals and switches, not the trains themselves, and you must keep these trains from bumping into each other.

Enough of memories, will tell you about my ride! 😉

I started my ride from Normanton Road. How I hate cycling there! It is the most busiest and dangerous road for cycling ever. Well, it was the only way to reach the St. Chad’s Street. My aim was to reach Findern. So I cycled along St. Chad’s Street, Carlton Road, Valley Road, Brooklands Drive, Willson Road and Moorway Lane. And finally I took a straight cycle path towards Findern. I assume I passed by a house where Latvians could be living. That is so nice to pick up a name of “Rīga” for their house.

"Rīga 28"

I also crossed a bridge which was not a bridge really, but a construction of pipes.

Construction of pipes

And also I managed to catch a feeling of Midsummer. I saw white dropworts, violet bird’s tares and jasmines.

Dropworts

This time I had a chance to cycle along a different part of Trent & Mersey Canal: from Stenson Lock (it is claimed to be the deepest on the canal) to Swarkestone Lock. I returned to Derby the same way I got to Swarkestone during the ride to Aston and Weston. That means I cycled along the National Cycle Network No. 6 until I reached the River Derwent.

I cycled for one hour and forty-eight minutes and managed a distance of 26,4 km (average speed: 14,5 km per hour, maximum speed: 32,2 km per hour).

Leave a Reply

