A ride to Burton upon Trent

Posted: May 10, 2011 in 40 km and more
Tags: , , , , ,

On Sunday, after the choir rehearsal, I decided to test myself on cycle endurance – so I cycled from Derby to Burton upon Trent (also known as Burton-on-Trent or simply Burton). I left home at 3 p.m. and returned at 8 p.m. My cycle time was 3 hours and forty-eight minutes. I managed a distance of 55 km. My average speed was 14,4 km per hour and maximum – 34,4 km per hour.

For my journey I chose National Cycle Network No. 54. I started from the centre of Derby. The route slowly rose up to the highest point of Mickleover, where it joins with the former Great Northern Railway line, now a cycle track. Here I noticed a sign of the Pennine Cycleway (known as National Cycle Network No. 68).

The Pennine Cycleway, 570 km stretch

The Pennine Cycleway takes in some of the most spectacular yet remote countryside in the country and is a challenging but stunning ride along the length of the ‘Spine of England’, it is also England’s longest leisure cycle-route with 80% on quiet lanes and minor roads and 20% on traffic free trails.

Hmm, maybe the next year we could cycle for libraries from Derby to Berwick upon Tweed? 😀

In less than two hours I reached Burton upon Trent. It’s a small town straddling the River Trent in the east of Staffordshire, England. After a short visit of the city (and also the library, of course!), I headed back to Derby.

Burton upon Trent

On my way back I met some cyclists and riders, and also dogs who had their evening walk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

