Coffee morning

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Up to 19 km
Tags: , , , ,

Coffee morning that starts at 11 a.m. and ends at 4 p.m. is a really special event for me. Who would know that conversation can be as gripping and fun as during our monthly coffee mornings. Politics, ethnography, history, linguistics, internet providers, social networks, rumours – these and other topics were brought up during the meeting of 10 really great Latvians.

It was a foggy morning and I needed to get to a suburb of Derby – Mickleover. It was more like spontaneous idea how to reach my destination. And the funniest thing is – all the way I needed to cycle uphill. And I enjoyed it so much! Maybe it’s because of energizing morning sense and a desire to sing during my way. And so I did – I hummed one melody after another.

I started my journey from Normanton Road towards city centre and turned left onto Mercian Way, it’s a final section of Derby’s inner ring road which was opened just yesterday. At the end of Mercian Way I took Uttoxeter New Road and continued along towards Mickleover and passed Royal Derby Hospital. Now Uttoxeter New Road turned onto Uttoxeter Road. After crossing bridge over A38, I turned right onto Western Road. Well, nothing is as easy as reaching Mickleover!

In total I cycled for one hour and managed a distance of 11 km.

P.S. It’s quite funny to observe a reaction of people when I’m saying that I’m going to attend Cycling for libraries where one hundred librarians and library lovers are going to cycle a 650 km distance in 10 days. Unbelievable, huh?! But it’s true.. 🙂

Comments
  1. […] was March 21, when I decided to visit my Latvian friends in Mickleover. The morning was coldish and I knew that all the way to Mickleover I will have to cycle uphill. That was quite a big challenge, especially because of the fact it was my first day of cycling. My […]

  2. […] it was time for my monthly activity – the coffee morning. After the yesterday’s late blogging thing, it was hard to wake up. But still I managed. This […]

Leave a Reply

