First day of cycling since 2008

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Up to 19 km
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was my first cycling day since 2008. It was a spontaneous idea without a real plan where to cycle. So I started my trip from Riverside Gardens in the city centre of Derby and followed the cycle path downstream (south) along the River Derwent towards Pride Park Stadium. I came along the river path, under the large road bridge and passed Pride Park Stadium. Then continued on along the riverbank towards Alvaston Park and took a short ride around the lake (it has an island in the middle). Afterwards I got back on the riverside path, continuing downstream again and passed by BMX Track. Eventually I took a turn to Alvaston, followed the Harvey Road towards Allenton and passed through Osmaston Park. It was getting dark already, so I headed back towards Derby via Portland Street, Pear Tree Road and Normanton Road.

In total I cycled for one hour and managed a distance of 10 km. I need to admit the riverside path is really attractive place for cycling. And next time, when choosing the riverside path, I should also visit Elvaston Castle.

Here are some ideas for the next trips:
Burton-Upon-Trent to Derby, 26 km, difficulty level **
Derby to Nottingham, 30 km, difficulty level *
Derby to Matlock, 35 km, difficulty level ***
Derby to Ashbourne, 35 km, difficulty level ***
Derby to Loughborough, 40 km, difficulty level **
Hucknall – Derby – Hucknall, 90 km, difficulty level ****

But first, it seems I need to take a look at shorter distances! 😀

Comments
  1. […] along the River Derwent towards Elvaston Castle. Basically it was the same route as for my first cycle day, just an extended version. And guess what, it is one of the Cycle Derby offered easy family rides […]

  2. gunaars says:

    go! go! gooo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

